Grease Is The Word

Believe it or not, I’ve never seen the movie Grease. Well, now that’s changed (thanks, Netflix), and I can actually say that Grease is actually a pretty damn good musical. The story of Danny and Sandy and how they get together is a tale that’s been told at theaters of varying levels across the entire country, and watching the movie I can see why. A lot of the songs in this film are just so good. “Grease”, “You’re The One That I Want”, Greased Lightnin”, “Summer Nights”, I never came across a song I didn’t like while watching this movie. I think the next thing I’m going to do is put these songs through my “ultimate soundtrack test”:  listen to them devoid of any context from the movie and see if I would be willing to buy them on iTunes and listen to them when I’m just chilling. Isn’t Spotify a beautiful thing? And if you have a better name for this test, I’d love to hear it.

The other thing about this movie that I loved about this movie is that it feels pretty real, albeit a 1950s version of real. What I mean is that I can see this as an actual high school that actually has these groups of people as friends and it was written by somebody that went to a school like Rydell High, unlike Mean Girls where it feels like it was written by somebody who’s going by some exaggerated  horror stories they hear from their friends or by what they see on TV…or from a movie. Is this some kind of “full circle” thing? All I know is that I’d rather go to a high school where the popular kids go out for burgers and shakes and wear leather jackets than a school where the popular girly-girls take pride in spreading dirt behind people’s backs. And where one of those popular girly-girls is just SO STUPID. ( -.- Sorry, I just really, really hate that movie.)

Anyway, I’m not into the “theater scene” or “musical scene”, if you want to call it one of those things. What I do know, however, is that Grease is held in pretty high regard when it comes to musicals and musical movies. And now I understand why. Everything about this was fun. Great songs, great acting all around, there was great choreography in the sequences for the bigger songs (especially for “Beauty School Dropout” and “Greased Ligtnin'”), the world felt real, the songs are freaking amazing, and I’d watch it again.

I realized that this is going to be in a section called “Martin’s Reviews”, and when I talked about Wonder Woman, I never gave a score. I’d say that this is an 8/10. It’s really good, but I never really found myself thinking that this breaks into that upper echelon of greatness.

But anyway, you should watch Grease sometime. You’ll be glad you did.

As a parting gift, here’s a funny Grease video from CollegeHumor.

 

 

Leave a Reply

