Talking RWBY

So, it seems we’re getting closer and closer to the Volume 5 premiere of RWBY. And while it seems that I should be excited about this upcoming premiere, I’m writing here from a position of…looking forward to it, but not super hyped.

For starters, let’s go over what the series is. RWBY is created by the production company Rooster Teeth and its been airing on their website, first to their subscribers and then to the general public a week after release including on their YouTube channel, since 2013. Here’s a plot summary that comes from the show’s Wikipedia page (Warning, here be a sliver of spoilers):

The story takes place in the world of Remnant, which is filled with mysterious and malevolent creatures known as the “Creatures of Grimm.” Prior to the events of the series, mankind waged a battle of survival against the Grimm, and their opposing kingdoms, before discovering the power of a mysterious element called Dust, which allowed them to fight back against the monsters. In the present day, Dust is used to power abilities and weapons, but a more archaic form of this is weaving it into clothing. Those who use these abilities to battle the Grimm are known as Huntsmen or Huntresses. The series focuses on four girls, each with her own unique weapon and powers. Together, they form team RWBY (/ˈrbi/, “ruby”) at Beacon Academy in the city of Vale, where they are trained to become Huntresses alongside team JNPR (/ˈunəpər/, “juniper”), team SSSN (/sʌn/, “sun”), team CRDL (/ˈkɑːrdnl/, “cardinal”) team CFVY (/ˈkɔːfi/, “coffee”), and various other named and unnamed student teams.

Volume 1 focuses on the introduction of the characters of the story, marking the events that lead to their team formations. All the while, mysterious thefts of Dust are occurring around the city of Vale, notably organized by the show’s antagonist, Roman Torchwick. Volume 2 follows up from these events of Volume 1, and team RWBY sets out in order to investigate the meaning behind these thefts. They aim to discover the villain’s plans for the city of Vale before the Vytal Festival—a festival between the four kingdoms of Remnant where they have their best students demonstrate their skills and abilities in celebration of the peace between all four kingdoms. Volume 3 starts with the beginning of the Vytal Festival; however, a sinister plot lurks behind the celebratory events, and the heroes can only do so much to prepare for the evil that is coming. Volume 4 takes place six to eight months following the events of Volume 3, with the members of Team RWBY separated and in different parts of the globe, mainly trying to get to “Mistral” (another location in the series) where another Huntsman Academy is located, to prepare for a new evil.

 All I did was correct what I thought was a typo.

I got into this show after watching an episode of DEATH BATTLE! featuring Yang Xiao Long, one of the main characters of this show, where she fought Tifa Lockhart from Final Fantasy VII. This followed reading tons of fan-written Death Battles featuring Yang from DeviantArt. This was right before Volume 3, when every RWBY fan will tell you shit got real and the story began in earnest. I’ve seen everything this show has done and…I feel like I’m not as hyped as other RWBY fans.

I think I know why that is: I got started with this show pretty late.  I started watching this show two whole years after the show began, forcing myself to catch up by watching the first two seasons on Netflix, where the first two seasons (the entire show at the time) was broadcast like a movie instead of 10-30 minutes episodes, which probably helped to explain the pacing issues I felt when shit hit the fan in Volume 3. Maybe I would have felt it if I followed it week to week back then as well. And I also felt it this past Volume 4. I know I shouldn’t be so hard on Rooster Teeth for episode length because of the many reasons that go into production, but maybe pacing could be an issue that can be addressed, especially if this show continues the cycle of using volumes to build up to an event in a volume that becomes a MAJOR plot point. Even with that in fact, I don’t think I’ll rush off to watch the earlier adventures as opposed to other titles I’m fond of like Fairy Tail or Attack on Titan.

Because of this, I’m not what you’d consider up to the times with the RWBY fanbase. Even being subscribed to the r/RWBY subreddit, I can safely say that I’m nowhere close to being the biggest RWBY fan, nor am I likely to gel with any other fans. Let me explain the reasons:

  • I have never been a fan of the music. While I have listened to the theme songs, nothing has made me inclined to listen to any of the songs outside of the context of the show, let alone listen to any of the songs on the soundtrack. Nothing there really pops out as super awesome.
  • I’m not what you’d call a “shipper” I have found no two characters that have clicked romantically AT ALL. Most of it may stem from not looking for romantic hints and hoping for a connection deeper them wanting to see them bang, but all the ships I’ve seen have either not hooked me in, I don’t see what the shippers see or I see them as friends at best. As for what happens in terms of romance on the actual show or what other people ship…do your thing, people. I ‘m not gonna stop you. I’m just some loser.
  • I don’t really care for any Rooster Teeth content besides RWBY. It seems that a lot of the people that are fans of other Rooster Teeth shows migrated to RWBY. I never cared about Rooster Teeth, nor even knew about them before discovering RWBY, so I probably have nothing in common with a lot of RWBY fans.

That’s not to say it’s all negatives. I enjoy reading the fanfics, though a lot of them tune me out because of the combination of romance and an unappealing premise that serves to help that romance. Although I’m not opposed to all romantic RWBY stories, I pass on a lot. In addition, I like seeing great fanfiction for this show, and I’ll admit some of the fanfic helped in making Ruby Rose (the main character) my favorite out of everyone on the show. And I will admit that some of the things that when it comes to shipping, I may come to ship something, though that probably won’t happen in the foreseeable future.

What does this mean for me and my small place in the RWBY fandom? Hard to say. Does anything I wrote here impact my feelings toward RWBY in the long run? I just hope that they fix the pacing issue and Rooster Teeth doesn’t drill the “two volumes of buildup for 1 mega moment in the third volume” into the ground, which is a fear I have considering Volume 5 is coming up. Aside from that, not really.

I guess you could call this an editorial or a mini-review, so I’m going to put this in my review section.

If there are any RWBY fans that read this, I hope I didn’t piss you off too much and I hope we can be something resembling friends.

Leave a Reply

